Travel Journal: Kauai, Hawaii

IMG_1230

Aloha! Recently I travel to the beautiful Hawaiian island of Kauai, also known as the “Garden Island.” This island has earned its title. There are beautiful flowers, bushes and trees everywhere. It really does make you feel like you’re in a movie. I’ve only traveled to one other island, but I’ve heard that it is the best out of all the Hawaiian Islands. It has a ton of fun things to do but isn’t overflowing with tourists. To see a video I made for this trip click this LINK.

This trip to the island was more of a relaxing by the pool sort of trip, but I’ve been to this island before and that was a real adventure. On my most recent trip, we stayed at the Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort and Spa. This was a gorgeous hotel perfect for a vacation where you just want to relax. Their pools are phenomenal! They have three freshwater pools, a water slide, a lazy river, a saltwater lagoon and a white sand beach. I spent some time enjoying each of these water adventures and loved all of them. The Lagoon was especially cool because you are able to rent floating chairs and even a kayak.

The food at the hotel was also very good! I especially loved the Ilima Terrace for breakfast. There is the option of a buffet that has many delicious options, or a menu that has more specialty items. I also ordered room service, more for breakfast when I was too tired to go down to the terrace, but I did have it once for dinner. That food was also good, not as good as the rest of the food at the resort. The poolside menu was perfect. There was an option for basically any craving you would have. The wait staff was also very prompt in requesting an order and bringing the order, whether it was food or drinks, very quickly. As a whole, the staff at this hotel was amazingly and accommodating in every way possible.

I also spent a day in the Anara Spa at the Grand Hyatt. This was a luxurious open air spa. There was a eucalyptus steam room (which I loved), a sauna, a lap pool, a whirlpool, indoor showers and lava rock, open-air showers. My mom and I got full body aromatherapy massages in an outdoor garden. It was so relaxing and just a cool experience. This is definitely worth the money, if you’re staying at the Hyatt.

Other than lying around the poolside all day, we did go on some excursion. The first was Captain Andy’s Na’Poli Sunset Sail. This was an amazing experience! The crew was so friendly and helpful. They had a lot of interesting facts about the island and its history. Also, The chef came out and personally talked to every passenger about dietary restrictions. It was a five-hour cruise, up and down the Na’Poli Coast with a three-course, surf and turf meal. The steak and shrimp were made perfectly! The dessert was a cheesecake, and I am not a cheesecake kind of girl, but I tried this and loved it! This would be my number one recommendation for anyone visiting Kauai. It’s nice because you get similar views as the helicopter tours, but it is much safer and you get a meal included.

Another place we ate at was the Beach House this was a good place for food, but it is better known for its view. We arrived to watch the sunset on the small, ocean-front lawn before going to our meal. It was beautiful! Even though the view was great, I was not a huge fan of the food. Everyone else in my party loved their meals, so maybe I just ordered the wrong thing.

The last excursion we made before I left was to the Sheraton Hotel to visit friends that were staying there. This hotel had a very nice layout. There was a common space with a small stage and bonfire pits that was very central to the hotel. The rooms were also very nice, I liked the decor of the Sheraton more that the decor of the Grand Hyatt. But the real selling point for the Sheraton is its beach. It is a gorgeous horse-shoe shaped beach with very little rocks.

The trip’s events were amazing and so much fun! The only setback was that I got very sick and my brother got very sunburned, so we had to see a doctor and stay inside for a day, but other than that this vacation was a dream! I highly recommend either of the hotels I mentioned above as well the Sunset Cruise and the Beach house.

Leave a Reply

